The ghosts of New Orleans are one of the greatest attractions in the haunted city. From the LaLaurie Mansion to the Sultan’s Palace, there’s a story to be heard around every corner. Another famous ghost story takes place in the Griffon House, sitting at 1447 Constance Street. It was a home, boarding house, storing facility and more during its time. However, with its long history of occupants comes an even longer history of hauntings.
The Union Occupies the Home
The Griffon House, built in 1852, had the original intent to be a comforting, spacious home. However, as often happens during war times, the home wouldn’t fulfill this purpose. In 1862, as the Union occupied New Orleans during the Civil War, one of the many homes they picked for the storage of goods and men was the Griffon House. When first moving into the home, the soldiers found a disturbing sight upstairs in the attic. They found multiple slaves, beaten and malnourished, shackled to the attic walls. They soon removed the slaves, placing them in a hospital, but this wouldn’t be the last instance of violence in the house. During the occupancy of the army, two prisoners caught stealing and fearing death, died in the home from self-inflicted gunshot wounds.
The Haunted Lamp Factory
After the two prisoners’ deaths, things in the home remained relatively silent. But years after the war, when the building was a lamp factory, several haunting events took place. First, a third shift maintenance worker encountered the aggressive and malicious spirits of two men, stomping toward him in heavy boots. They terrified the man so much that it took increased wages and convincing to persuade him to return to his job. Sometime later, the owner of the factory came into the building one morning, where a large, concrete block flew at him from the top of the stairs. The owner, infuriated that someone would throw this block, sprinted upstairs to find the culprit. However, he was shocked to see that nobody was within the building, and all of the windows upstairs were sealed tight.
The Terrified Widow
As time passed, the factory closed down, and another buyer purchased it. They converted the beautiful, historic home into a boarding house. One day, as many did, a widow rented a second-floor room in the boarding house. During the widow’s stay in the home, she would sew by the window as a hobby. But one day, as she sewed, she noticed blood on her arm and looked up to see a puddle leaking through the floor above. She left the building with haste, and wouldn’t return, sending her relatives to retrieve her belongings. It wasn’t realized until much later, however, that the room above her’s was the very room where the two prisoners shot and killed each other years earlier.
In the years since it was a boarding home, the Griffon House has changed hands. Some have claimed to experience the paranormal and ghosts of New Orleans, while other occupants have not seen much of anything. Many speculate that the two men that killed each other to escape justice still haunt the centuries-old home. While they may never allow ghost tours through the haunted halls of the residence, there’s no denying that its dark history has led to a haunting, ghostly presence.